Snowfalls and Sweaters

Instagram <3 Taken at 5:15pm and auto-enhanced. Very eerie since it was much darker out.

Instagram

Today was an idyllic winter afternoon in New England. The flakes were white and chubby and the snow on the curbs hadn’t yet turned an icky brown. Even better, my driveway has been shoveled out!  But I still have a love-hate relationship with this season. Back in my snowboarding days this afternoon would have been something to laud over, but now I find it a nuisance. For one, walking downhill in snow, even the sturdiest of boots, can become quite a challenge. Good bye cute foot apparel and hello LL Bean furry boots. Mine aren’t as staunchly functional as Sorrells, but they definitely change the feel of an outfit.

At the same time I love snow.  If you’ve ever built a snow-gloo you’d know that they are really warm. In scientific simplicity: snow is insulating. And it has to be a certain temperature to fall from the sky. Last week when the temps were in the negatives the snow, as we New Englanders say, was stuck up in the clouds. Would I rather wear bulky boots or have ice block cold thighs? The jury is still out.

Pixlr-o-matic filter. The sweater was so dark that the only good lighting for a self-taken photo was in a bathroom. It is what it is.

Pixlr-o-matic filter. The sweater was so dark that the only good lighting for a self-taken photo was in a bathroom. It is what it is.

Pixlr-o-matic filter. I love how far up the neck goes

Pixlr-o-matic filter. I love how far up the neck goes

One thing I’ve decided was a necessary addition to my closet was a big, bulky sweater that screamed winter. I got this one the other day at the Goodwill. It’s a knitted Banana Republic item that’s dark blue with hints of white. It isn’t terribly form fitting, but it’s quite cozy and sets the mood for a day like this. All I need is a big fire place and a burly husband to chop wood and I’m good to go! Despite the fact that the mirror image makes it look like my engagement ring finger is packing heat, I’m a very single 21 year old girl, so I settled for a delicious cup of hot chocolate instead. If my memory serves me well, a hot chocolate has never stood me up.  Or a hot toddie. Or a hot dog.  I’m seeing a connection, folks!

Love,

Jocellyn

5 thoughts on “Snowfalls and Sweaters

Leave a Reply

