Coffee Table Styling

One of my favorite blogs to pop onto is Emily Schuman’s site Cupcakes and Cashmere. It’s short, to the point, and luxurious. It allows me to imagine myself as a California fashionista-goddess who knows all the fabulous places to eat, the classiest brands to wear, and can throw a girls weekend get-together with ease and finesse. Her recent post on coffee table styling, which I never knew was actually a styling form, has made my life a lot easier. Who would have thought something seemingly mundane or unnecessarily fussy could bring calm to my living room-bedroom hybrid.

tea lights & candles, playing cards, the infamous photos, coasters, my favorite mug, journals and books.

tea lights & candles, playing cards, the infamous photos, coasters, my favorite mug, journals and books.

Everything has its place

Everything has its place

My sock covered foot makes a creepy appearance

My sock covered foot makes a creepy appearance

My coffee table was a curb side discovery my ex-boyfriend spotted from his old apartment a few weeks before we started living together. It was brown, with a few scratches (and a random A carved into it), and best of all it was free. I contemplated painting it over the years, but I decided against it, hoping that I would upgrade upon graduating. I’ve tried different ways of displaying my various “goodies” and the arrangement took on a haphazard shape. I always had to push stuff around and reorganize if I wanted to rest my laptop or a plate on the table. I finally watched Ms. Schuman’s lovely video which emphasized making sections on the table. I don’t have any coffee table books, but I have a little display that is cute to look at and makes the space a lot less cluttered. But I’m strongly considering buying books over the course of this year. Some are expensive, but worth it. I think they’ll be great for a cozy day in. Instead of browsing Pinterest I’ll get some visual stimulation and some thumb flipping exercise 😉

Wish List

Paris Street Styles by Isabelle Thomas & Frédérique Veysset

The whole series of Bent Objects: The Secret Life of Everyday Things by Terry Border. So cheeky.

Committed to the Image: Contemporary Black Photographers

Uncorked by Marco Pasanella

The New Erotic Photography 2 by Dian Hanson. What can I say, I love nudes.

The Gentlewoman Biannual Magazine

Love,

Jocellyn

3 thoughts on “Coffee Table Styling

  1. This is a cute idea! We have magazines and a few candles on out coffee table but I really like the way you placed various items to create a unique assemblage. Nice work – I’m loving what I’m seeing on your blog!

  2. Pingback: 22 and still a ‘Barbie Girl’! | I dream of poutine

  3. Pingback: 22 and still a ‘Barbie Girl’! | My Blog

Leave a Reply

