A black woman’s survival guide pt1: fashion

In honor of Black History month I’ve decided to put together two posts for my “sisters” across the blogosphere. These are bare bones clothing items and beauty products every one of us should have.  Of course all shades of girls can benefit by having these around.

I wouldn’t say I have “street” style. True, when I was 13 I went through this phase of really wanting a BAPE hoodie, but for the most part I’m pretty “New England” neutral. I feel uncomfortable in loud prints and although I admire crazy, neon colored Nikes I don’t feel like they look right on me; I like my basics. Sheer blouses are really in right now and as a black woman I think we have a slight advantage over our white gal-pals. When your skin is lighter the sheerness is a lot more apparent and while seeing a peek of a bra or bandeau top doesn’t bother me—it’s totally cute, actually—I like that on a darker skin tone it’s less noticeable. I throw on a black bra and feel comfortable going out to eat at a nice restaurant or chatting with my male teachers after class. The crème top I have flows when I walk and gives a hint of my waist outline, but still isn’t too daring. Just make sure you get a mesh laundry bag to wash them in. You can go to a high end store and pay $15 or drop a dollar at a Goodwill or Dollar Store/Tree/General. And make sure if you wash your bras with these shirts that you hook the clasps, or else they’ll catch and tear. Spoken from experience.

$10 at TJ Maxx

$10 at TJ Maxx

foldedsheer

Stock up on these!

Stock up on these!

 

Next every black girl needs to find a killer pair of jeans to highlight the booty. Admittedly so I’ve never been told “damn girl, you got a huge donk”, but whether it’s a mini bubble or big one like Minaj there is no reason we shouldn’t want to highlight our “trademark” asset. I’m a personal fan of skinny fit jeans that have stretch or are full on jeggings. My two favorites are a pair from the Gap and, surprisingly, some dark wash Bullheads from Pacsun. As with all clothes, especially skinnies and jeggings, don’t get caught up in set sizes. You might have to go up a number or two.  Take care of your jeans by not washing them after ever wear and flip them inside out when you do. I’m a firm believe that you can make inexpensive clothes last just as long, if not longer, then some high end brands if you take care of them.

folded gap jean

When you find something you love stock up if possible! Cuts go out of style so fast these days.

When you find something you love stock up if possible! Cuts go out of style so fast these days.

I could run a marathon in these.

I could run a marathon in these.

If you live by the size you'll die by the size. Hmmm. Sounds better when talking about swords, but don't get caught up, especially with tight, body hugging clothing.

If you live by the size you’ll die by the size. Hmmm. Sounds better when talking about swords, but don’t get caught up in what size you “usually are”, especially with tight, body hugging clothing.

Check out part 2 on beauty tips and products!

Love,

Jocellyn

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

3 thoughts on “A black woman’s survival guide pt1: fashion

Leave a Reply

