Glitzy business

In less than three months I’ll be walking across the stage and shaking hands with President Finney. It’ll mark the end of four humbling, exciting, frustrating, and growing years at Champlain College. I’ll have a BS in Professional Writing—hopefully headed out into the publishing world—and a Latin Honor of Magna Cum Laude (ah, I can almost taste the Summa; so close!) In preparation our teachers have forced us I came up with the idea all by myself to finally ordered my first set of business cards. There was a lot of hemming and hawing over what company to go through, so I went with a simple design by Build A Sign (very nice feel for a very low price.)

I was putzing around on Camilla Style’s blog when I saw the gold edge painting she did on her business cards, and I realized it would add a flashy touch to the conservative black and white print.

businesscards4

I got a little bored while the cards were drying so I spray painted this swashbuckling bottle I bought on a whim several months ago!

I got a little bored while the cards were drying so I spray painted this swashbuckling bottle I bought on a whim several months ago!

The white fuzz is my blurred out phone number; you understand

The white fuzz is my blurred out phone number; you understand

Taking my lack of artistic ability into consideration, I only tried this on half of my cards. I’m glad I had the clairvoyant forethought. You see, if you’ve read my About Me page you’d see the quote “…DIY with C+ results but A+ ambitions” I followed all the directions, but the gold edging wasn’t as clean as I wanted it to be. The paint bled onto the front of some of my cards and only a handful came out perfect. I’m thinking of trimming them down a little to salvage what remain, but if you don’t peer too hard they look pretty darn cute! Maybe my understanding friends will get these gilded copies that will become “collectors items” after I’m rich and famous 😉

Love,

Jocellyn

A little humor

Leave a Reply

