Simplicity

About 2 weeks ago I found this wonderful clip by Kinfolk that convinced me to try this raw dish that is apparently all the rage: Ribboned Asparagus. What can I say, I’m kind of a sucker for artsy, mildly hipster-esque, food videos with mellow music.

Iā€™m quite fond of cooked asparagus (nature’s french fries, am I right?) and wanted an excuse to get some shaved Parmesan, because something about it is so oddly elegant looking in the fridge. Not to mention I needed to use the smattering of outrageously expensive pine nuts I had lying around. I know, I know, this meal choice is sounding like a boyfriend that I just settled on out of necessity, but I guarantee you I’m glad I made the right choice šŸ˜‰

The pine nuts got a little more "burnt" than toasted...but they were still quite good!

The pine nuts got a little more “burnt” than toasted…but they were still quite good!

What I love most about this dish is there are no set measurements. Just listen to your taste buds and all will be well* The video says you can shave the tops, but I decided to chop them off and save them in a plastic bag for an omelet.

Love,

Jocellyn

 

*Speaking of well…I’m not. I’m still all gross and sick. Send me some good thoughts and those Vick’s blocks you put in the bottom of our shower. Merci.

 

Leave a Reply

