Mini Mussels; Mighty Meal

Hello world,

I’m back! I finished my last exam on Friday, and now there is only senior week standing between me and that walk towards the college president to receive my diploma. I cannot believe how fast it has flown by. Just yesterday it seemed like I was a little freshman getting frantic over picking classes and drinking boxed wine. Oh how times have changed.

Despite my hectic end of the semester schedule, I still managed to take breaks and find time to cook and last night was no exception. Lately I’ve been craving mussels and after getting them two times out at this restaurant downtown I decided to make my own.

Braised mussels from Sweet Waters. It's an appetizer but I get it as a meal. They serve the mussels with shoe string fries. As you eat the mussels the fries start to fall into the sauce and get soft but not soggy. Its pure sea-comfort-food!

Braised mussels from Sweet Waters. It’s an appetizer but I get it as a meal. They serve the mussels with shoe string fries. As you eat the mussels the fries start to fall into the sauce and get soft but not soggy. Its pure sea-comfort-food!

 

My Version!

My Version!

 

Mussels are inexpensive, easy to cook, and depending on the ingredients you can keep them simple or jazz them up.

I decided to go with mussels steamed in a coconut milk and basil sauce. To add more bulk to the meal I made some coconut rice. It ended up being quite the delectable little entrée.

Since I couldn’t comfortably eat 2 pounds of mussels and expect to go out drinking with my fellow soon-to-be graduates, I had to store them properly so they would be good the next day. I took them out of their shells and placed them in a container with the left over sauce they steamed in. Since I finished them off the next day refrigerating is fine, but if you don’t plan on consuming them right away then it’s best to put them in the freezer.

 

Love (and glad to be back),

Jocellyn

 

Public Service Announcement: As with all seafood, err on the side of caution. Mussels are live when you buy them from the store and after shopping around and getting groceries inside they’ll probably start to open up a little. Poke them to see if they move. If they don’t close up in a few minutes then chuck them. If they are broken chuck them. If you find any cooked ones that haven’t opened then chuck them. It’s better to lose three or four mussels than spend the entire night propped up or slumped over in the bathroom.

 

Leave a Reply

