On a Whim: A Nook Book

I arrive at Barnes & Noble with a task at hand: I was looking for a planner. As a former writing major I should have been immediately drawn to the Moleskins, with their leathery-bodies and minimalistic look. But the $20 price tag seemed too high.

And then I walked by the e-readers and tablets and soon found myself absentmindedly playing with the screens. For the past six months or so I’ve been thinking of whether or not I wanted to buy one. Was it necessary? Would I get too connected to technology? Would it last?

Two things cinched the purchasing deal. First, my 2009 laptop for some reason wasn’t getting great WiFi in the new place and for one week $120 had been ripped off the Nook price tag. I’m not easily swayed by sales, except when it comes to electronic devices and food.

After buying the tablet, a case, $60 2-year insurance that allows me to drop kick it and get a new one despite my own douche-baggery, and some screen protectors, I spent only $7 more than the original price of the tablet.

Checking out the wonderful blog Making It With Danielle! Check it out! http://makingitwithdanielle.com/

Checking out the wonderful blog Making It With Danielle! Check it out!
http://makingitwithdanielle.com/

Of course celebrations were in order

2013-06-12 17.34.12

And to think, I almost settled on a Moleskin! I’ve had it for about 2 weeks and so far I love it. If anything, I think I use it less than my laptop, though I do admit Pinterest isn’t as easy to use and my finger tips need to go on a diet– so fat! 😉 Unlike many, I didn’t buy a tablet to read books on (though I did purchase one to see how I felt about reading on a screen.) I’m using it mainly for fast online perusing and I’ve subscribed to a few news magazines for “intelligent discourse.” I normally read all my new online anyway, so the screen isn’t a new challenge.

Are you a tablet user? If so what do you use yours for and what kind do you have?

Love,

Jocellyn

2 thoughts on “On a Whim: A Nook Book

  1. Pingback: Growing up in motel rooms | I dream of poutine

  2. Pingback: Growing up in motel rooms | I Dream of PoutineI Dream of Poutine

Leave a Reply

