Salty Chihuahua

Summer sun, you’re like a lover that has left me, so, like many a girl, I will keep your memory alive by constantly staring at photos that remind me of you and sharing said photos and supplemental stories with everyone I know—ad naseum; be prepared for lots of posts fully dedicated to or featuring my swanky porch and the bright summer sun.

I guess if I want to go the lover route then I need to be a little kinky and realize this blog post is really more of a threesome: me, the sun, and some fine ass drinks. This one is muy caliente.

This pink delight is called a Salty Chihuahua, which is not to be confused with the Salty Dog that uses vodka (or gin for those who are really hardcore.) It’s a simple drink: grapefruit juice, tequila, and orange liquor. Good things always come in threes.

2013-06-21 19.37.00

Never one to do something the easy way, I went to town on this drink. Mixed drinks should be coddled, adored, and held with great reverence. Stupidly I bought put-hair-on-your-chest tequila, so to make up for the low quality I went with fresh squeezed grapefruit juice instead of bottled. It was a little chunky so I used the last bit of cheese cloth to strain out the excessive amounts of pulp—a little is good, but too much and you end up picking out your teeth.

2013-06-21 19.41.03

and no one likes seeds either!

Some boozy udders

Some boozy udders

If you can't hack 100% salt on the rim add in some sugar, just like the restaurant Margaritas. Of course, Margaritas also makes weak drinks ;) Not saying you're a weakling or anything...

If you can’t hack 100% salt on the rim add in some sugar, just like the restaurant Margaritas. Of course, Margaritas also makes weak drinks 😉 Not saying you’re a weakling or anything…

2013-06-21 19.47.15

Paying reverence to the place I formerly interned at, I used the EatingWell recipe as a starting point. Splitting the recipe in half I ended up using 2 shots* of tequila, 1 shot of triple sec, and 1.5 cups of grapefruit juice. In hindsight I wish I used a little less juice.

But there is always a saving grace to drinks that seem “too weak.” See, despite mild dilution, 2 shots is 2 shots. If you make a drink with 2 shots and little juice then you’ll sip it slowly. If you make a drink with 2 shots and lots of juice you’ll drink it faster and likely get that giddy, tipsy head rush sooner. I guess I really depends on what you’re going for, but either way you can’t go wrong!

 

2013-06-21 19.47.33

Don’t worry, there was more in the fridge 😉

But I’m a bit of a perfectionist, so I’ll definitely be playing around with this drink (oh, the torture!) until I get the right ratio that will please both the “nursers” and “knock-em-back-ers.” Until then, sit tight and keep it salty!

 

Love,

Jocellyn

 

*note that the recipe calls for ounces and not shots.  1 shot = 1.5 ounces. I just happen to have shot glasses around, so I use those instead, imagining they are one in the same. I would wager a guess that  most people do this, so your body (and your liver) is likely used to drinking that extra ½ ounce. 

3 thoughts on “Salty Chihuahua

  1. Pingback: Simple salad; exquiste taste | I dream of poutine

  2. Pingback: Simple salad; exquiste taste | My Blog

Leave a Reply

