Simple salad; exquiste taste

Last week my body was craving ample amounts of salad. Armed with some ideas from Mark Bittman’s 2009 “101 Simple Summer Salads”, I bought up the produce section of the Waterbury Market.

Grocery stores get a little more expensive once you get out of Burlington, but what I like in Waterbury is that its not that much more expensive to buy organic over conventional, which has been a pleasant surprise!

Grocery stores get a little more expensive once you get out of Burlington, but what I like in Waterbury is that its not that much more expensive to buy organic over conventional, which has been a pleasant surprise!

I tried out three of his salads and the “red salad” was hands down a favorite. In fact, I plan on making it again this week due to its utter preperation ease and great taste.

 “13. A red salad: Combine tomato wedges with halved strawberries, basil leaves, shaved Parmesan and balsamic vinegar.”

 Of course I’m one to tinker so I added mushrooms which I sautéed in butter. Paula Deen might have been (or still be) a racist old lady, but she was right when it came to butter; it makes everything better.

2013-07-09 20.16.45

2013-07-09 20.16.54

I baked some chicken thighs for a side at dinner.  It’s not entirely necessary, but since I eat a lot of fruit throughout the day, I noticed by the end of the week I was nibbling here and there on things I normally wouldn’t—like quesadillas made in the toaster oven…—,  so the added calories were helpful.

2013-07-09 20.34.40

What I love about non-traditional salads is how easy they are to prepare. Don’t get me wrong, I love a good salad with spinach, and peppers, and mushrooms, and olive, and onion, and garlic for good measure, and artichoke hearts, and, as you can see, it all gets a little excessive very soon—and quite bulky.

To give it that extra touch I used some specialty items as well. My roomie just got this great white balsamic vinegar. It’s not as strong as the regular kind (and doesn’t leave a black, oily sheen), making it not only an aesthetic compliment, but a taste enhancer without all the over powering. Since it is lighter, I sprinkled on some Black Lava sea salt. It’s dark, crunchy, and tastes amazing on top of avocado, I might add.

2013-07-09 20.22.52

Bonus:

A light dinner like this deserved a good drink. This one is really simple: no shaker, cheese cloth, or herbs needed!

rum and white grapefruit

This blog should really be called “Toes that photo bomb”

1 shot of rum (gin is also nice)

2 shots of white grapefruit juice

1 ice cube

A few berries for garnish and soaking

2013-07-09 20.17.27

Love,

Jocellyn

Leave a Reply

