Working for the Weekend

My new job is only 30 minutes away from Burlington, Vermont but I still took the plunge and moved to Waterbury so I’d only have a seven mile commute.

Needless to say, I have some unfinished business in Burlington in the form of a few good friends, so I seem to find myself up there every weekend. I switch off the usual NPR/VPR radio and listen to energy boosting Dubstep or Trap Music for the drive up, and I feel like New Jersey citizen cruising into NYC for a nice getaway.

But getting up there isn’t a simple throw-a-few-things-in-the-car-and-be-on-my-way instance. Please, I’m a woman, and I pack like one too! I always have to be prepared, just in case I end up going dancing instead of to a dive bar, or the world comes to an end and I want to get in some last minute pins, so the Nook is always my road dog.

2013-07-13 12.15.50

2013-07-13 12.14.03

 

Finally came around to loving gin.

Finally came around to loving gin. Note, I only take a few shots up, not the whole bottle!

The gray and white striped dress  is meant for the beach, along with my men’s button up //The jeans are my beloved Citizen Rockets and a great, versatile bottom//Three different shirts are key, depending on the type of place I go and how much I eat 😉 //Faux leather is a must have no matter what //The wedges are for feeling sexy,  in case I feel so inclined //Accessories and a clutch full of toiletries is a given//Different size purses for different size bars and restaurants//Accessories for that bit of glitz// My own liquor so I can drink cheaply before going out—this week was gin and grapefruit

 

This is a fib-fab waist belt I got a few months black. Everyone thinks it’s a snake, but really it is a black panther. I don’t believe I need to draw the connection as to why it is my spirit animal!

2013-07-13 12.17.12

2013-07-13 12.16.42

 

For the ride up I wear something easy and simple. In a perfect world I’d have a phenomenal weekender bag, like the one from my first Pin It Monday, post,  but for now I’m proud to rep’ my local grocer.

2013-07-13 12.21.50

 

Love,

Jocellyn

Leave a Reply

