Comfort Food

IMG_1066I take comfort food seriously. Sometimes it’s cheesy. Often times it’s gooey. It is made to pick you up by your bootstraps and put you at ease, both gastronomically and mentally. Maybe you had a bad day at work, your children are acting up, or the side mirror of your car got ripped off in a most merciless scrape-and-run. Or maybe you just want to spite the world. All reasons for needing comfort foods are good reasons.

I’m a creature of habit, and my comfort food pick of savory pasta recipes dates back to when I was 18 and my then boyfriend, who had been on a NOLS course for 40 days, came back and promptly dumped me. This couldn’t of happened before he left? Or before I drove 2.5 hours down to Massachusetts to see him? Of course not. I drove home and made myself Mac and Cheese with cooked onions, garlic, three types of cheese, and proceeded to mope around the house for four days. It was the end of one (in hindsight very crummy) relationship and the beginning of another (that has yet to let me down).

Not much has changed, except t I now have to pay a premium for gluten-free pasta when I need some noodles to help me through less than stellar times or rainy weekends. If you like comfort, pasta, seafood,  then this recipe, courtesy of Bon Appétit, is worth adding to your pasta repertoire.

 

IMG_1065

IMG_1070

Pasta with Sardines and Lemon

As with all recipes, be open to experimentation. Radishes did not make it into my version of this dish because a.) I didn’t have them, and b.) they aren’t my favorite food to nibble on.

INGREDIENTS

  • 2 4-ounce cans smoked whole sardines
  • 12 ounces linguine or other dried pasta
  • 4 tablespoons olive oil, divided
  • 1 small shallot, finely chopped
  • 4 garlic cloves, finely chopped
  • 3/4 teaspoon crushed red pepper flakes
  • 4 radishes, trimmed, quartered
  • 2 cups baby kale or spinach leaves
  • 2 tablespoons (or more) fresh lemon juice
  • Kosher salt, freshly ground pepper
  • Lemon zest (for serving)

To see the full recipe visit Bon Appétit

For gluten-free pasta Ancient Harvest is good, but Schar, in the bright yellow box, is the best. You get a good amount of pasta and the noodles reheat for days, which one would think should be a given, but usually isn’t with gluten-free brands.

Love,

Jocellyn

4 thoughts on “Comfort Food

Leave a Reply

