Frye Boots: Part 1

IMG_1688

Frye’s are boots you wear in your twenties, and thirties, and maybe during your pregnancies, buy more of, and then pass a pair onto your daughter once her foot is the same size as yours. These Frye Jane boots, made from good leather, go beyond the “investment piece” label. They’re a legacy piece.

IMG_1685

I’ve wanted Frye’s for five years. But the price tag always seemed too steep. Fast forward five years and I had gone through two pairs of boots (both around $120), and the leather, despite care, had been ravaged by salt from snowy streets or the zippers had busted half way through the winter. Enough was enough. Graduation funds were running low,  and it seemed like the perfect time to get a pair, knowing that they would last more than two seasons. And it would probably be many years before I had the disposable income in order to buy the boots!

IMG_1678

The Campus boot is very popular, along with the Harness style, but I’ve been in love with the Jane’s since I first laid eyes on them the Christmas morning my mom got a pair (she has tiny size 6 feet, so passing down was very sadly out of question).

The Campus was little too heavy for my liking, and  I knew the western-style buckle on the side of the Harness boot wouldn’t go with most of my wardrobe. The Jane had a little heel, rich color, and the perfect amount of sturdy-slouch.

IMG_1682

IMG_1681

When looking at Frye’s, you’ll definitely want to go into a store if it is your first time buying; avoid the slightly-cheaper allure of Ebay until you know how the styles will fit you. Some I could barely get my ankles into. Others look beautiful on the shelf but ghastly on the shin. Even with the beloved Jane’s I had to go up a size. Make sure you bring in the socks you’ll normally wear. I was surprised to find out simple running socks were just fine and  my bulky winter socks were too much.

IMG_1691

Hopefully you’ll love your boots the second you purchase them, but if you bring them home and want to  sleep on the thought of having bought them, make sure you only wear them on carpet so you don’t scuff the bottoms. Also, don’t wear denim w! Even after one wear the inside was stained blue. Hopefully you don’t want to take them back, but in case you do they’ll need to be returnable.

IMG_1683

After a week of wearing my Frye’s they were delicious, but, as expected, the first few days were a bit uncomfortable. They aren’t boots to buy and immediately show off in a long day of errands, window shopping, and coffee meetups. But don’t feel rushed, since if you take care of them you’ll have them for decades—maybe generations—to come!

Check back tomorrow for part 2 on how to properly take care of your Frye’s, as well as getting your other fashionable, winter boots up to seasonal snuff.

Love,

Jocellyn

2 thoughts on “Frye Boots: Part 1

  1. Oh oh oh oh oh. sorry. those are gorgeous. LOVE. Perfection. Drooling. I wish I could wear high boots (my calves are huge so no). My boot collection consists of mostly cowboy with a few booties and few slouchies (plus Dr Martens). I think they’re a great purchase – we’re talking quality not quantity, something that I’m FINALLY starting to understand.

    Boots in NC last forever because 1. it hardly ever snows (so very little salt). 2. Winters are so very short, I wear them only a few times. 3. Let’s be honest, us southern ladies still have like 13 pairs of boots so being that each one gets worn 1 time each season, you get the idea.

Leave a Reply

