The Seed of Light Award

All you need to start a forest is one seed
This award is for blogs that inspire creativity, nature, connection, communications and beauty. Pass it on!

 

 I’d like to tell myself I don’t write for the adoration of others. Of course I write for myself, but it’s great when other people like my writing and what I “do”.  I’d say it’s a good 50-50 split. So I was honored to be gifted the Seed of Light Award, especially from a professional woman, who also works in the publishing field, that has managed to appreciate my very “relaxed” blog. Please visit the very accomplished Kirsty at StainlessInStilettos.

Sowing the seed is easy! (Rules of the award.)

1. Thank the person who nominated you.

2. Nominate at least 5 blogs and provide links to their blogs.

3. Notify each of their nominations.

Kirsty nominated me and said: “Quite simply because this blog manages to combine yoga, wine, cardigans & Sake bombs – as well as some delightful writing.” Aw, shucks! Here are my picks!

Makeup-Bakeup

I saw the word beauty and knew I of course had to honor my old roommate from Freshman year, Kasey. Before we met we had these preconceived notions, thanks to Facebook photos. She thought I was 6’1. I thought she was a red head. Well, I’m a towering 5’3. She has a fabulous head of very blonde hair. Nonetheless, she is amazing with makeup. She’s a true glam gal who knows how to wield several types of makeup brushes and create gorgeous looks that highlight natural beauty, while avoiding looking to “painted on” or, god forbid, tart. And she just started blogging and her site is AWESOME! So check her out.

Black Espresso

A little bit of lipstick. A lot of great haircuts. A closet I pine for. A woman whose architectural skills I hope to commission someday for my third fourth house.  Black Espresso is a blog that is dotted with poignant, short words, beautiful imagery, and simplicity that still leaves me feeling satiated.

Sandpaper Kisses

Nout (rhymes with flute) and I don’t know each other. But we comment back and forth regularly. She has great wrap dresses I envy, a knack for genius Halloween costumes, a fierce smile that stands out in a world of pissed-off  faced bloga-fashion-istas, and she’s the coolest self-proclaimed cat lady I know.

Sips in the City

I like wine. I can taste complexities, but I don’t describe them those stereotypical ways;  I’ve yet to taste oak-y undertones. So I want the wine blogs I read to be funny. Not too serious. Good gracious not boring. Able to invite people into this scary world of crushed up grapes. If you’re like me, Sips in the City is the blog for you.

Fashion, food and flirts

It starts like this: “Yes, this is yet another blog about fashion. And oh yes, this is yet another blog about food. And to make things even worse, this blog will combine both of these very cliché topics. I say, deal with it.” But it isn’t lame or humdrum. It’s funny, varied, full of writing, GIFs that don’t seem kitsch-ly placed, and an unabashed appreciation for the male body.

Check all of them out. Share the blogging love.

Love,

Jocellyn

3 thoughts on “The Seed of Light Award

  1. Thank you for the beautiful kind words. Yours is definitely a blog I look forward to the updates everyday as it’s both funny and informative. Keep up the good work! 🙂

  2. Pingback: 10 facts about me + blog awards | Sandpaper Kisses

Leave a Reply

