B is for Bourbon

IMG_1765

I was 17 years old, well under the drinking age, and under the guise of “just watching movies at a friend’s house, I instead drove to a party with my two best friends. We flirted with boys and drank this ungodly concoction we thought was delicious: Captain Morgan’s Spiced Rum and Sun Kist Soda.

It’s been too many years to remember how many Solo cups of the drink I actually endured, but the next morning I dry-heaved the entire way home. It was a most classy affair.  Since then, I’ve never been one for brown liquors (in fact, I’ve only had three shots of spiced rum since!), but for some odd reason my taste buds have been opening to the idea of Bourbon.

I’m still too weak to sip on the strong, put hair on your chest brown liquid by itself, so I’ve been easing my way into this new realm of libations with these two recipes. One is sweet and fun and festive red. The other is perfect for the season of snow and blankets. Shall we?

Recipe from the blog Cold Glass

  • 1¾ oz bourbon (…might as well just make it two!)
  • 1 oz triple sec
  • 1 oz cranberry juice cocktail
  • juice of ½ lime

Place ingredient into a mixer with ice and shake away. Strain into glass, garnishing with a spear of cranberries, or a twist of lime rind, or, if you don’t have time for showmanship, skip garnishing all together.

IMG_1635

IMG_1637

IMG_1639

Hot Buttered Bourbon Toddy (slightly adapted)

  • 1 ½  oz Bourbon
  • 1 tbsp unsalted butter
  • 1 tbsp brown sugar (the original recipe calls for 2 tbsp, but I find that overly sweet)
  • 6 oz boiling water

Place brown sugar and butter into a mug. Add 2 oz of boiling water to the mug and mix until the butter and sugar have dissolved. Once dissolved, add in the remaining water and gently stir in the Bourbon. If feeling particularly cozy, go a la mode and add a scoop of ice cream. This is certainly not a “healthy-cocktail”, nor should it be!

IMG_1759

IMG_1760

mmm, mmm buttery

mmm, mmm buttery

IMG_1761

Boozy heaven.

Love,

Jocellyn

PS: Great news on the site front! I don’t want to jinx it or put down a date of when it’ll be up and running, but a good friend is working out some kinks, so it looks like we’ll be moving westward soon. Honestly, thank you so much for your patience during my three-(gasp!) week hiatus

5 thoughts on “B is for Bourbon

  1. I love bourbon! I tend to steer away from white liquor, unless it’s tequila. 😉 When I first started drinking I started out with dark and fell in love. A hot toddy is really great during this time of year. This mix sounds awesome, and I need to try both recipes!

    • I do love a hot toddy! They are a great excuse to drink when you feel a sore throat coming on. I’d love to see a study on brown vs white liquors, and see if there is a certain type of person who likes them 🙂

Leave a Reply

