Simple Sage Syrup Mimosas

Mimosas

 “I drink champagne when I’m happy, and when I’m sad.

Sometimes I drink it when I’m alone.

When I have company, I consider it obligatory.

I trifle with it if I am not hungry and drink it when I am.

Otherwise I never touch it…unless I’m thirsty”

– Lily Bollinger.

 

Whether you have the money to drink “real champagne”, enjoy your Italian prosecco, or this weekend only seem to have the funds for Cook’s or Andre, you should celebrate your love of the bubbly by making a most delicious take on the simple and iconic mimosa.

While the classic is great, this mimosa with simple sage syrup adds a unique flavor. Just like the name suggests, simple sage syrup is very simple and easy to make!

champagne 1

champagne5

You’ll need:

A bottle of the bubbly (If people are coming over I think 1 bottle for every 2 people would suffice)

Granulated sugar (Now is not the time to be hippy-dippy. Get good ol’ white sugar. Nothing in the raw)

At least ½ a cup of sage leaves (Use the leftover sage to make a delicious Lemon Sage Chicken dinner)

Several oranges (Or tangerines if you want to mix it up)

Friends or a broom (Let’s face it. We either drink champagne because we’re with the ones we love or because we need the motivation to clean the apartment)

champagne2

Simple Sage Syrup (Recipe from Katherine Martinelli)

1 cup of water

1 cup of granulated sugar

½ cup of roughly torn sage leaves.

Bring the water and sugar to a simmer over medium heat. You’ll want to give it a stir everyone now and then until it dissolves. You don’t have to micromanage the pot, but don’t go off and have a thirty minute phone call, or you’ll come back to hot mess.

 Instead, now would be a good time to start juicing your oranges.

champagne6

champagne7

champagne9

 After the sugar has dissolved add the sage, give it a stir, and remove it from the heat and let it steep for 15 minutes. When the time is up, strain out the leaves and let the syrup cool.

champagne3

champagne10

 Now you have the ingredients to put together your mimosa(s). Unlike cocktails I don’t believe there is a hard and fast rule for measuring. If you can’t handle your champagne then go use more orange juice instead. If you like a good bubbly buzz then only use a splash of OJ. When it comes to the syrup, though, I’d use a little less than half a shot glass.

champagne11

champagne14

I hope this mini-recipe encourages a well-rounded catch up with friends or, at the very least, a sparkling apartment.

Love,

Jocellyn

2 thoughts on “Simple Sage Syrup Mimosas

Leave a Reply

