Roasted Pork Loin and Learning to Breathe

Pureed Sweet Potatoes

It’s amazing how life gets in the way.

I admit that I haven’t felt 100% in the past weeks, both physically and emotionally. Thankfully my body is feeling much better, and I’ll be moving to a new apartment by the end of the month which will bring a lot of frustration and anxiety to a close.

Work is a place where I can breathe and be truly happy, but as roomy as my space is under the desk I cannot sleep there. Normally I’d unwind by cooking a long meal in the kitchen, but when you don’t feel comfortable in a shared place (or cook a meal without someone carrying on a conversation), it can start feeling like a chore. Instead of spending time in my apartment I’ve been relying on the 3 D’s—Drinks, Dinner (out), and Dates—but I truly miss the alone time in the kitchen.

I’ve been collecting cookbooks and recipes for the upcoming months, but until then I’ll reminisce on this meal I made months ago. Actually, this was my Thanksgiving dinner, since I didn’t go home to see my family. I’m honestly not one for turkey, so instead I decided on a pork loin smothered in honey and rosemary with garlic placed in slits, pureed sweet potatoes, and caramelized onions. If you wish to spend a day in the kitchen unwinding and sipping on wine or a cocktail, make a big meal like this.

Roasted Pork Loin

Roasted Pork Loin with Rosemary

Dried Babies Breath

Pureed Sweet Potatoes

Onions

Roasted Pork Loin

Thanksgiving Dinner

Love,

Jocellyn

5 thoughts on “Roasted Pork Loin and Learning to Breathe

    • Thanks! It was good and since it was cooked slowly it wasn’t try, which can easily happen to pork.

      In all honesty, though, the potatoes were totally the highlight 😉

  1. Pingback: Brussel Sprouts and Thanksgiving | I Dream of Poutine

Leave a Reply

