Strutting in my Nicole Banyan Pumps!

Nicole Banyan Heels

“If you love something, let it go. If it comes back to you it’s yours forever. If it doesn’t then it was never meant to be.” – A wise person once said about clothing!

A few weeks ago I popped into the shoe store (the same one I got my Nicole Flats from) and saw another pair of Nicole stunners. Instead of being low-riders they were a high and mighty pump that were classic but made a statement. I loved the neutral color, the shape of the opening, and the gold bar that ran across the back.

However, try as I might, my feet wouldn’t give to the 7.5 size. True, I am a pretty solid size 8, but every so often a 7.5 works, but not these one. I felt like Cinderella’s ugly step-sisters as I tried to wrangle my foot into the shoe, and I could tell the perfectly coiffed college girls sitting next to me were judging incredibly hard. Ashamed, I returned the shoe to the sales assistant and shuffled away—probably to the OP to down two mimosas in sadness.

Nicole Banyan Heels

A few weeks later I was in Second Time Around and saw a size 8 version that were barely worn! I slid my tootsies in and they fit perfect.

Of course, that was the hard part. These were misleadingly high shoes. Like, saunter down the hallway, booty swaying heels. Heels you need to practice in and do ankle exercise for. And at $40 I wasn’t sure if I was ready to take the plunge at that price….

Nicole Banyan Heels

Nicole Banyan Heels

While I’m not patient when it comes to most things when it comes to second hand sales I’m able to sit around and even play chicken with other potential buyers; years of working at Goodwill have given me a good sense for items that will fly off the rack and others that will collect a bit of last-minute-sale-dust.

Nicole Banyan Heels

Patience paid off in this case, and when a 20% off sale rolled in I hustled down, tried them on again for good measure, and brought them home! Originally price at $90, I’m quite impressed with this $25 steal. They look great with skinnies cropped right at the ankle and dresses with tights. Like many a good shoe they can be dressed up or down. Sure, I have to saunter along with a healthy amount of self-assured sex appeal, but sometimes it’s nice to flaunt what your genetics (and a few inches of lift) gave you.

Love,

Jocellyn

2 thoughts on “Strutting in my Nicole Banyan Pumps!

Leave a Reply

